Cookies - We use cookies to help improve your experience of using our website.

Accept & Continue
Czech Philharmonic

Czech Philharmonic

Mon 1 January 0001 - Sat 10 February 2018
Victoria Hall

Czech Philharmonic
Tomáš Netopil - conductor
Josef Špaček - violin

Dvořák – Two Slavonic Dances Listen
Dvořák – Violin Concerto Listen
Dvořák – Symphony No 9 (From the New World) Listen

Free pre-concert talk at 6.45pm by David Fligg
The concert will be finished by approximately 9.30pm

The years 1878–80 are often described as Antonín Dvořák’s ‘Slavonic period’, during which he was particularly inspired by Slavonic folk music of the time. The Slavonic Dances were inspired by Brahms’ Hungarian Dances and are considered amongst his most popular works. Dvořák’s Violin Concerto is without doubt a masterpiece, containing some of his most haunting melodies and its central theme is one of the finest creations in the concerto repertoire.

The best known tune in all Dvořák is the main theme from the second movement of the Symphony No 9 – it was the music from the old Hovis ads, with the cloth-capped little lad pushing his bike up the cobbled road past the coal pits. The influence from his time in America is clear, where Dvořák wanted to understand the ‘music of the people’.

The Czech Philharmonic’s mastery of its instruments goes hand in hand with the ability to contribute its skill towards the ensemble’s unified, inimitable sound.



A £37.10, B £34.98, C £30.74, D £24.38, E £18.02, O £13.78
Discounts available

Tickets & Times

  • The music of the people is a rare and lovely flower growing amidst encroaching weeds.