Cookies - We use cookies to help improve your experience of using our website.

Accept & Continue
European Union Chamber Orchestra

European Union Chamber Orchestra

Mon 1 January 0001 - Sat 27 April 2019
Leeds Town Hall (Victoria Hall)

Online subscriptions are now open for booking. Click here to book your subscription.

European Union Chamber Orchestra
Hans-Peter Hofmann - director
Tasmin Little - violin

Warlock - Suite: Capriol Listen
Mozart - Violin Concerto No 4 Listen
Barber - Adagio for Strings Listen
Haydn - Symphony No 44 (Trauer-Symphonie) Listen

Free pre-concert talk at 6.45pm by Clive McClelland.

The concert will be finished by approximately 9.10pm.

Warlock’s Capriol Suite, a vivid reimaging of renaissance dance tunes, bursts with infectious rhythms and harmonies from a time gone by. Mozart’s fourth violin concerto, a work now cemented in the popular concerto repertoire, is one of the most technically demanding, holding the instrument constantly in the spotlight – played here by “Britain’s finest violinist” (The Independent), Tasmin Little.

Barber’s Adagio for Strings is a real contender for the saddest, most emotive and heart-breaking music written in the last century. The famous adagio – with its emotional intensity – has become the music people turn to in the wake of tragic events around the globe.

One of Haydn’s most highly-charged creations, the Trauer (mourning) Symphony takes on an emotional and dramatic character, and is one of the composer’s most brilliantly inventive works.

Read what Tasmin Little had to say when we sat down with her ahead of this concert


A £38.16, B £36.04, C £31.80, D £24.91,          
E £18.55, O £14.31 
Over 60s: £1.50 off
Under 18s/students/unwaged: 50% off
(including booking fees)

Tickets & Times

  • I was cut off from the world. There was no one to confuse or torment me, and I was forced to become original.