Cookies - We use cookies to help improve your experience of using our website.

Accept & Continue

**Important message, please read**

As we continue to follow national guidance around managing the impact of Coronavirus in Leeds, Leeds City Council have now closed a large number of buildings and facilities to the public. These include Leeds Town Hall, Carriageworks Theatre and Pudsey Civic Hall, where we have been able, until recently, to welcome visitors, but the safety and wellbeing of staff and the people of Leeds is always our first priority.

These closures will remain in place throughout March and April. Leeds City Council will be monitoring developments and following government guidance with regards to when it may then be appropriate and practical for us to reopen. In the meantime we are developing our online content and we will endeavour to engage with as many people as we can through our social media channels.

As a result of the closure period all of our events from now until the of April have been cancelled or postponed. A member of our Box Office team will be in touch with you shortly if you have purchased tickets to any of our events. If you have any queries please contact and allow our team to either respond via email or call you back. Should this not be possible, please do call the team on 0113 376 0318 (Mon-Fri between 10am and 5pm), but please be prepared for a short wait. We would like to reassure every ticket holder that we will get back to you as soon as we can by email, telephone or post. We won’t forget you.

Events after the closure period are being reviewed on a weekly basis and we will keep you informed as soon as we can to confirm either way.

Thank you for your understanding and continued support at this unprecedented time. We look forward to welcoming you back to our events in the future.

Keep safe and well.

With kind regards
Leeds Arts Events & Venues Team

Iceland Symphony Orchestra

Iceland Symphony Orchestra

Mon 1 January 0001 - Sat 15 February 2020
Leeds Town Hall (Victoria Hall)

Click here to book 2019/20 Orchestral Season subscriptions.

Iceland Symphony Orchestra
Yan Pascal Tortelier – conductor
Jean-Efflam Bavouzet – piano

Bizet - L'Arlésienne Suites, selections: Pastorale (Suite 2), Carillon (Suite 1), Minuet (Suite 1),
Adagietto (Suite 1), Farandole (Suite 2) 
Ravel – Concerto for the Left Hand Listen
Anna Thorvaldsdottir – Aeriality Listen
Prokofiev – Selections: Romeo and Juliet Listen
                   Montagues and Capulets
                   The Young Juliet
                   Balcony Scene
                   Dance of the Five Couples
                   Death of Tybalt
                   Romeo at Juliet´s grave
                   Death of Juliet

 Free pre-concert talk at 6.45pm by Brian Newbould.

Read our interview with Jean-Efflam Bavouzet in which he told us about his career highlights, and how he feels to be returning to a city that was so essential to his early career.

Bizet’s L’Arlessienne (the lady from Arle) suites were originally incidental music to a play about one man’s struggle with his desire for two women.

Ravel composed his Concerto for the Left Hand for pianist Paul Wittgenstein, who’d lost his right arm in WWI. The result is a dark work mixed with jazzy rhythms, arguably one of the most challenging piano works ever written.

Icelandic composer Anna Thorvaldsdottir’s Aeriality lies somewhere between symphonic music and sound art. Individual parts slowly cascade together, joining to form a mass of sound, and then separate once more, suspended in space and time.

Prokofiev’s ballet score for Romeo and Juliet is one of his greatest works, the story of Shakespeare’s star-crossed lovers masterfully told through the orchestra. The battle of the Montagues and Capulets has accompanied many tense on screen moments, notably in the BBC TV series The Apprentice.




A £39.22, B £37.10, C £32.86, D £25.44, E £19.08, O £14.84
Over 60s: £1.50 off
Under 18s/students/unwaged: 50% off
(prices include 6% booking fee) 

Tickets & Times

  • It was clear from the start that Prokofiev had a special gift for ballet music which placed him in the big league alongside Tchaikovsky, Ravel and Stravinsky, but it was a gift directed towards satire and social comment rather than romance.
    Frank Granville Barker