Cookies - We use cookies to help improve your experience of using our website.

Accept & Continue
Orchestra of Opera North 7 Apr 2018

Orchestra of Opera North 7 Apr 2018

Mon 1 January 0001 - Sat 7 April 2018
Victoria Hall

Orchestra of Opera North
Dalia Stasevska - conductor
Sofya Gulyak - piano
Winner, Leeds International Piano Competition, 2009

Bernstein – Symphonic Dances: West Side Story Listen
John Adams – The Chairman Dances Listen
Gershwin – Rhapsody in Blue Listen
Rachmaninov – Symphonic Dances Listen

Free pre-concert talk at 6.45pm by Dan Holden
The concert will be finished by approximately 9.20pm

To celebrate composer Leonard Bernstein’s centenary, the Orchestra of Opera North performs a concert of American music, including his iconic Symphonic Dances from the ground-breaking, award-winning musical West Side Story.

John Adams’ The Chairman Dances, taken from his opera Nixon in China, is also known as Foxtrot for Orchestra and it’s easy to understand why given its rhythmic drive.

Gershwin’s epic Rhapsody in Blue needs no introduction; it serves to fuse jazz and classical elements showcasing the versatility of the Orchestra, soloist Sofya Gulyak and Finnish conductor Dalia Stasevska.

The concert concludes with Rachmaninov’s Symphonic Dances. Written while he was in New York, this colourful composition is his final orchestral work, and, for many, his greatest achievement.



A £37.10, B £34.98, C £30.74, D £24.38, E £18.02, O £13.78
Discounts available

Tickets & Times

  • To achieve great things, two things are needed; a plan, and not quite enough time.