Cookies - We use cookies to help improve your experience of using our website.

Accept & Continue
Russian State Philharmonic Orchestra

Russian State Philharmonic Orchestra

Mon 1 January 0001 - Sat 10 March 2018
Victoria Hall

Russian State Philharmonic Orchestra
Valery Polyansky- conductor
Alexander Sitkovetsky - violin

Tchaikovsky – Suite: Sleeping Beauty Listen
Prokofiev – Violin Concerto No 1 Listen
Tchaikovsky – Symphony No 4 Listen

Free pre-concert talk at 6.45pm by Brian Newbould
The concert will be finished by approximately 9.40pm

The true magic of Tchaikovsky’s ballets, even for dancers, is created by his score: “The score is the ballet” the critic Croce wrote. A dancing symphony about fate and life woven from an old tale of a princess who pricks her finger and is put under a hundred-year spell.

Together with those by Bartók and Shostakovich, Prokofiev’s two violin concertos are considered the finest of the twentieth century; his first demanding the utmost of its soloist to delight listeners.

Tchaikovsky’s Symphony No 4 is one of music’s most dramatic pieces, “Never yet has any of my orchestral works cost me so much labour, but I’ve never yet felt such love for any of my things” he wrote.

The Russian State Philharmonic Orchestra – ranking among the finest symphonic ensembles in Russia – performs some of the most melodious, rich and passionate music ever written.



A £37.10, B £34.98, C £30.74, D £24.38, E £18.02, O £13.78
Discounts available

Tickets & Times

  • Roughly…all life is an unbroken alternation of hard reality with swiftly passing dreams and visions of happiness ...No haven exists ... Drift upon that sea until it engulfs and submerges you in its depths.
    Tchaikovsky on the programme of the Fourth Symphony